Singles : Marry Another

Today I’m looking at a band I haven’t come across before ‘Marry Another’ who have a single ‘The Spectator’ out on iTunes now. A quick look and listen to this lot put me in mind of bands like Mumford & Sons and I’ll be fair that does put me outside my comfort zone (in fact it makes me fucking shudder). Saying that however I do think there is honest intent with this bunch and taking the song as the sum of its parts its clear that there is a strong degree of musicianship and craft to all involved.

While the song is in your ears its pleasant enough, a lilting lament that is cast on a framework of pop folk with a suitably earthy lead and sweetly cooed backing vocal. However for me personally the song just doesn’t stick, a few minutes after its over you’d be hard pushed to remember any distinctive characteristics. I don’t hate it , I don’t love it, its just there.

Oh and the story behind how the band got their name…not as good as the band think it is.

You can find the band here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

